Recipe: Like, the best gluten-free banana pancakes ever

I’m not gluten-free and definitely not vegan (I mean, have you not heard of pork belly) – so why are all the recipes I post annoyingly “vegan-friendly” or “gluten-free”?

I just want to post all the things worth sharing ok so get off my back. (Yes, I am actually talking to my own judgmental voice in my head rather than all those other people in the universe who so passionately care about my opinions). Because vegans usually have to deal with a lot of hidden avocado and the tinge of coconut in everything they taste. And gluten-free stuff (in my experience anyway) is either dry, heavy or stodgy (not exactly things you find yourself craving). So if I come up with something which doesn’t taste like the food restrictions you’re reminded of every morning, lunch time, afternoon tea-break or dinner then I’m sorry, I just have to post it.

Oh and (as all of my family know after being exposed to my, I’m sure, non-irritating rants about clean eating fads) I am definitely not promoting all this vegan and gluten-free dieting that people are doing for no apparent reason. Fortunately for you, I will not bore you with my ramblings today (perhaps another day) and will start typing up the recipe..

Untitled2

Quick note: recipe vibe = crazy-quick/filling/not unhealthy/satisfying breakfast or dessert which you honestly don’t want to cover up with any syrup, chocolate or anything else that may detract from the natural sweetness and flavour of the Great Banana. I usually pour the whole mix into a small pan to make one GIANT fluffy pancake which can’t help but put me in a good mood in the morning.

So please PLEASE don’t be deceived by the pictures because I really just added the garnishes for decoration and eye-candy.

IMG_2105[1]

Serves 1

Ingredients

1 egg

1 ripe banana

about 4 tbsp gluten-free self-raising  flour

Method:

  1. Mash up the banana.*
  2. Add the egg and whisk it all with a fork.**
  3. Mix in the flour. ***
  4. Fry in a pan on a low heat (wait a while until bubbles appear so you don’t end up witth raw batter) and until golden brown.

Notes

*the riper it is, the smoother you want it. If it’s not very ripe, make sure you leave large chunks of it unmashed, otherwise it won’t be sweet enough.

**the more time you have to whisk, the lighter your pancakes will be 🙂

***until thick lava-like consistency (although it really doesn’t matter too much. If you find out it’s too runny in the pan, it just means it’ll look a bit weird and people will start wondering what the hell you have on your plate but it’ll taste just as good so don’t sweat it.)

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Like, the best gluten-free banana pancakes ever

Leave a Reply

